top of page

"All professions are needed, all professions are important"

I couldn’t wait for this Saturday because that was the first day that we were going to volunteer for an organization that works in the medical field.

So this was the day we visited South Carolina Advocates for Epilepsy (S.A.F.E.).

S.A.F.E. is an NGO that:

ADVOCATES on behalf of patients, their families/caregivers

EDUCATES people from all walks of life about epilepsy and seizure first-aid

INSPIRES patients, families, caregivers, students and community members to make a difference for themselves and others who deal with epilepsy on a daily basis

Today we became tailors, and our task was to help S.A.F.E. sew scrub caps that can make EEG tests for patients with Epilepsy easier.

Even though I have had some experience working with a needle, I’ve never used a sewing machine in my life. But with the help of S.A.F.E. staff, I quickly learned the basics, and I felt very proud for myself when I was done with the first piece of clothing in my life.

After this very busy and interesting day we were going back to Columbia. Each of us was very satisfied, and we had hearts full of hopes and ideas of how we would implement the knowledge that we had learned that day.

I hope you enjoyed reading my post. I am very much looking forward to meeting y’all in DC!!!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
bottom of page