top of page

Beautiful people, beautiful moments, beautiful experience

Coming to the U.S. had always been a dream for me. And the dream is now coming true. I am really having a blast discovering American culture. We often hear in Europe that our continent is more and more "americanized." It is not, everything is so different: food, atmosphere, way of life, people... I admit it took me a bit of time to get used to people’s kindness here, and to the "hey, how are you?" when you enter a shop. Everything feels so peaceful here. I enjoy learning more about leadership, about America and its values, about community service, about NGOs and institutions. I love having strolls in Columbia, breathing deeply and feeling overwhelmed by the once-in-a-lifetime experience I’m living. I love discovering new cities (Charleston, Charlotte), wearing out my shoes running through these incredible moments, becoming immersed in this Southern atmosphere.

Picture: Charlotte, 07/02/2016

And it is not only about discovering the U.S., but it is also about the human aspect of the program: meeting awesome European people, caring, sweet and kind. I get so much not only from the American culture but from my European counterparts too, and that is truly fascinating. I feel so glad that I had the opportunity to celebrate the best and most moving birthday of my life here, in America, with such beautiful people. We are united, and we are just like a big family, and I really feel stunned by this love and open-mindedness among us. We’re already planning to travel and meet each other again, because friendships built during these five weeks will probably last for a long time.

Picture: group hug for my 20th birthday, after receiving beautiful presents from the whole group, and after the Happy birthday song with Kaimana Chee!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
bottom of page